Women's Fiction

Christmas at the Little Cottage on the Hill By Emma Davies

Publisher: Bookouture

Date of Publication: 26th Oct 2018

Date of Review: 24th Dec 2018

One twinkling winter’s night, Ruby wakes her sleeping children and escapes for a new life in the countryside. It’s a choice that will change her life beyond all recognition…

Arriving at the cosy little rental cottage as the first snow begins to fall, Ruby doesn’t regret leaving her bully of a husband for a moment, but she does feel guilty about uprooting her kids so close to Christmas. She can only wish that one day soon her son will forgive her.

It’s not long before the family are settled in and drinking hot chocolate by the fire, the flames kept roaring by a neighbouring woodsman called Angus. As big as a tree, but as gentle as a dormouse, all Ruby’s instincts tell her to be wary of letting this gorgeous stranger get too close. Is that the first tingle of festive magic Ruby can feel? Or might it even be hope?

As Christmas day approaches and a blizzard sparks a power cut across the entire village, Ruby must force herself to believe in Christmas miracles again. Was she right to put her trust in Angus? With only flickering candles to guide her through the darkness, will she ever find her way back to the light?

My Review

Christmas at the Little Cottage on the Hill is a perfect read for a cold wintery day that will make you want to snuggle up with a warm blanket and a hot chocolate. Just what you need to fill you with Christmas -spirit. It is the fourth book in the series but the first one I’ve read. The sub-plot ties in with what has gone on before and the first few chapters introduces these previous characters. This is cleverly crafted and woven into the main story so this book can be easily read as a stand-alone novel.

The main storyline for this fourth book doesn’t start until chapter three but when it did, it captivated me right from the start. Ruby has uprooted herself and her two children and escaped to an idyllic new home in the countryside. But her son, Jem, isn’t happy about moving and this conflict is what keeps the pages turning.

Filled with relatable characters, as the story reaches its climax there are some real tear-jerker moments, so you might want to make sure you ask Santa for a big box of tissues in your stocking this year!

A great Christmas read for fans of Jill Mansell, Carole Matthews, or Phillipa Ashley.

Under Literature Love’s rating scheme, this book has been awarded 4 out of 5 stars.

This means:

I really enjoyed this book. This book is highly recommended.

Thank you to the author, publisher, and NetGalley for an Advance Review Copy of this book.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Christmas-Little-Cottage-Hill-unputdownable-ebook/dp/B07G2GPNTL/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1545633937&sr=8-1&keywords=christmas+at+the+little+cottage+on+the+hill

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s